Gå til innhold
  • Bli medlem

Jacket for Finse Trip

mjs

Anbefalte innlegg

Guys,

I am new to Norway and as result have not mastered written Norsk. So I apoligise for the english mail.

I am planning a 4/5 day trip to Finse at the beginning of March. There will be three of us on skis pulling pulks. I am wondering what Jacket I should buy for when I'm skiing? I have a heavy down Parka to use at camp etc.

I have a north face jacket that is breathable, water and wind proof. Is this enough with a woolen base layer when on the move? Any advice you guys could give me would be greatly appreaciated. In fact clothing advise period would be of great help.

Kind Regards

Michael

Lenke til kommentar
Del på andre sider

Annonse

North Face is a well respected brand, and most likely it will work like a charm. Wool plus a good shell layer jacket (with a good hood) is a really excellent and well proven combination when moving. Your down parka is a luxury most people will envy you :)

I assume your legs would be covered with something similar (wool + something windproof). My concern would be the most difficult parts: Your hands, your head, your neck, your feet.

Hands: Wind proof mittens (not gloves) with warm insulation (wool). For really rough conditions I prefer the old fashion kind where you can separate the insulation and the outer shell layer (easier drying, and you can use the shell layer separately if you're working heavy and need to cool off, but the wind is too chilly to expose naked skin). I'm not saying other kind of mittens won't work, but I'm not recommending equipment I'm not familiar with. Same thing with gloves – I use gloves for light work, but will wear only mittens for winter in the mountain. That doesn't mean there's no glove in existence that will do a good job, just that I haven't found that glove….